Our Board


AGM Mike Bottomley
AGM 2018-21 Annual Reports
Able AGM Kate MacRae talking

Corporate Governance

Able Australia is governed by a Board of Directors who volunteer their time to monitor, guide and support the organisation on behalf of the members and people we support. The constitution of the organisation outlines our governance principles. Board members are elected in line with these constitutional requirements.

The Board elect the Chairperson and appoint the CEO to lead the operations of the organisation, as per Able Australia’s constitution. There are a number of sub-committees of the Board to govern the broad number of areas of responsibility.

Able Australia Board

The Able Australia Board consists of eight directors. The Board is responsible for our strategic direction, organisational performance and overseeing governance and risk. There are three subcommittees.

  1. Quality and Risk
  2. Finance, Investment and Remuneration
  3. Public Relations, Marketing and Fundraising
Peter Clark profile image

David Clark

Chairperson – Director since November 2012

Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors

David was appointed Chairperson of the Able Australia Board in December 2013. He is an Executive Coach with more than 20 years’ experience in senior executive roles within a diverse range of organisations. His background is in Human Resources and Senior Executive Management roles, working primarily in the food and beverage industry. David has worked in Europe, USA, Asia and the Pacific and has deep experience in organisational change.

David’s Able Australia Board Committee membership includes the Quality and Risk Committee

Meg Downie Able Board Profile Image

Meg Downie

Deputy Chairperson – Director since 2016

Bachelor of Business

Meg is the Director of the Infrastructure, Government and Healthcare Industry Group at KPMG where she has been managing the strategic growth and market positioning of its government business for a number of years and brings a wealth of expertise and knowledge to Able Australia. Prior to KPMG, she spent 16 years with the Commonwealth and Victorian Public Services where she specialised in organisational re-structuring and a range of human resource management functions.

Meg’s Able Australia Board Committee membership includes the Quality and Risk Committee

Peter Reilly Able Board

Peter Reilly

Treasurer – Director since 2012

Bachelor of Business Accounting; Associate – the Institute of Chartered Accountants, Registered Tax agent since 1976, Associate – Institute of Company Directors.

Peter has more than 40 years’ experience as a senior executive and has demonstrated success in a range of areas including general management, building high performance teams, developing and implementing financial and business plans, directing public companies and ensuring funding requirements are met in high growth organisations. Peter is a Director of public companies, MBD Corporation Ltd and MRL Corporation Limited, a Director of Melba Opera Trust, Director of the St. Bernard’s Foundation, Chairman of Scotchmans Hill Pty Ltd and Executive of Lifeview Residential Care.

Peter’s Able Australia Board Committee membership includes Chair – Finance, Investment and Remuneration Committee 

Don Wing Able Board

Hon. Don Wing AM

Director since 2011

Bachelor of Laws

Don practised as a Barrister and Solicitor for 20 years before being elected to the Legislative Council in the Parliament of Tasmania. During his 29 years as an Independent Member, he served as President of the Council for six years and was Mayor of Launceston from 1983-1987. Don is a member and patron of a number of community, humanitarian and sporting organisations.

Don’s Able Australia Board Committee membership includes the Public Relations, Marketing and Fundraising Committee

Mike Bottomley Able Board profile image

Mike Bottomley

Director since 2012

Mike currently owns and operates several businesses throughout Queensland and New South Wales including Aitken Welding Supplies, Abrasive Diamond and Industrial and INSESA. Mike has also been a strong supporter of several community organisations including Apex, Life Saving, Rotary and church council.

Mike’s Able Australia Board Committee membership includes Chair – Public Relations, Marketing and Fundraising Committee and the Finance, Investment and Remuneration Committee

Laura Meagher Able Board profile image

Laura Meagher

Director since 2008

Bachelor of Commerce (Law); Bachelor of Management (HR); Diploma of Public Relations

Laura is a committed and passionate professional with experience in marketing, communications, culture and people across a variety of industries including automotive, finance and insurance and building and construction for over 15 years.

Laura’s Able Australia Board Committee membership includes the Public Relations, Marketing and Fundraising Committee

Prue Morgan Able Board Profile Image

Dr Prue Morgan

Director since 2018

PhD, Master of Applied Science (research); Bachelor of Applied Science (physio); Graduate Diploma Neuroscience

Prue is the current Head of Physiotherapy at Monash University. She is an experienced physiotherapy clinician and academic with more than 30 years of experience in neurological clinical practice, physiotherapy education and research. Prue has assumed many state and national leadership roles in physiotherapy over her career and was awarded the title of Specialist Neurological Physiotherapist in 2008 by scholarship.

Our Strategic Plan

Able Australia’s Strategic Plan maps out the organisation’s direction for the next three years. It articulates five strategic priorities to achieve the organisations strategic objectives:

  1. Quality and Innovation
  2. Establish a Centre of Excellence for Deafblind
  3. Partnership and Engagement
  4. Sustainability through Growth
  5. Transformation